Help me understand Unending Hunger Cobalt Jewel

Sorry if this is a dumb question but they are my forte and my raison d'etre ;-)

Started playing this game mid last season and this season I'm playing summoner and loving it.

I keep seeing Unending Hunger being recommended as a must have and it is on my acquire list when I have funds. It was ~3EX but seems to be dropping.

My question is why is this jewel so good and recommended?

I've done some research and I've seen some people say they use it to increase AOE. I've seen other stuff saying the Soul Eater buff helps with map clear speed.

I may have done it wrong but I tried adding this jewel into my build in Path of Building but could not see any change in damage number.

What exactly is it that makes this good and so expensive this league (I've seen old posts saying this was really cheap in previously leagues and where I guess Necromanacer wasn't as popular).
Last bumped on Sep 29, 2020, 8:11:45 PM
I'm not experienced summoner nor I have played summoner build in Harvest so this is my mile-high interpretation.
Unending Hunger gives your specters 50% chance to gain Soul Eater buff for 20 seconds. This buff increases attack and cast speed, also character size, on kill. This means your specters will be gradually getting buffed as you progress through a map. Specters are extremely powerful this league, especially certain ranged types that dominate the meta. You only have few specters so this jewel will let them to get Soul Eater buff and stack it to increase their already high damage output.