The team are currently working hard preparing our announcements for Content Update 3.0.0 tomorrow and 2.6.0 later this week! In the meantime, we've sat down to interview Blake, one of our environmental artists to gain insights into his work!

Hi Blake! Thanks for taking part in the interview! Could you please introduce yourself and let us know a little bit about your history with gaming and environmental art?

Hey, my name's Blake and I'm an environment artist at GGG. I guess I got into gaming pretty late. I didn't grow up with any game consoles or a PC, so going round to my friends houses to play video games was a huge deal for me. What we did have growing up were a lot of board games, but over the years I got tired of the same games with the same rules, so I began to add new rules, changing things to be more challenging or interesting. I'd play test these changes with friends and then go and adjust the rules after. I guess this was a Game Dev sort of mindset. I didn't think anything of it at the time, I was just doing it because I was bored.

Later on in high school I got into 3D because I thought it was cool. My high school science teacher just randomly happened to do 3D animation in his spare time and gave me a copy of 3D Studio Max and a bunch of tutorials.

After high school I did a couple of 3D courses at Media Design School. I ended up focusing on Environment art, mostly because I really like making worlds for players to explore and partly because Animation and Character Art is really hard.

Could you please tell us about your current role at Grinding Gear Games and what an average work day is like for you?

I'm an Environment Artist, so I make the dungeons! Areas in Path of Exile are made up of environment tiles. They're like 3D puzzle pieces that the level designers use to create areas. My job is to make those 3D puzzle pieces.