The next in our series of developer interviews is Andrew, our audio engineer. He's been with us for five years and is a veteran of the Grinding Gear Games team. We sat down with him and discussed his history with Path of Exile and much more

Hi Andrew! Thanks for taking part in the interview! Could you please introduce yourself and let us know a little bit about your history and background with audio?

Hey! I'm the resident audio engineer at GGG. I started working with audio when I was in highschool, something to help with recording music I was writing at the time. That led me to discover electronic music, which I started writing and performing around Auckland. After doing that as an amateur I decided to take audio a tad more seriously and studied at SAE for my diploma.

After that I worked for a short time at a tech startup, but was lucky enough to be hired by GGG after emailing them on a whim.

Could you please tell us about your current role at Grinding Gear Games and what an average work day is like for you?

My current job involves pretty much start to finish of your average audio pipeline. I'll take new assets and assess what audio, if any, will need to be created. After creating audio I'll also be the person to implement that into the game.

On top of that I work with programmers to improve technical aspects of audio, such as the tools we use, or the tech in game used to propagate audio.

It can be surprising what you have to learn day to day on the job, there are new challenges every day.

How did you end up working at Grinding Gear Games?

Like I mentioned earlier I emailed GGG on a whim, after a few emails and a meeting or two I completed an audio test that the lads seemed to be happy with. A big part of this was right place right time.

You've been with us for five years and started at a time when the Grinding Gear Games team was still quite small. Are you able to give us any insight as to how the audio side of Path of Exile has developed over that time?